Nederlands Woordenlijst

Baltic States

The Baltic States of Lithuania, Estonia, and Latvia are located on the southeast coast of the Baltic Sea. Sweden, Finland, Poland, the Baltic States, and Russia share the coastlines of the Baltic Sea.

After the Russian Revolution in 1917 a number of countries, such as the Baltic States, Poland, and Finland engaged in civil wars and became independent of Russia. The Soviet Union was established in 1922. In the Molotov-Ribbentrop pact (a non-aggression pact) of 1939, Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union concluded a number of secret protocols (annexes to the non-aggression pact) about borders and spheres of influence of both countries. The agreement in this non-aggression pact entailed that the two signatories will divide up Poland between them and that the Baltic States, Finland, and parts of Romania would fall under Soviet influence. In June 1940 the Soviets occupied the Baltic States. The German-Russian non-aggression pact was broken in June 1941 when Germany attacked the Soviet Union.

The Baltic States regained their independence in 1991.


Baltic States
Bar Mitzva